My Servers and Admins

Recently my YouTube channel has been going through many popularity spikes and changes, and with that I thought I decided to start promoting something that I spend a bit more time on than anything else, my gaming servers.

If you do not know this already, I am a pretty big gamer. I mean, I have to put that computer I built to some use, right? But, yes, I am a gamer, but I am a bit more interactive in the actual up-keep of the gaming community. Instead of spending countless hours of playing the games, I decided to start managing servers for games I love. For example, Minecraft.

As you can see in my background, I very much do love Minecraft. Minecraft is a first-person sandbox style game in which you mine for materials and place blocks to create amazing creations. To me, its Legos with a twist. Anyway, the game is very popular and just sold its 4 millionth copy, which is VERY impressive for an Indie game. My favorite part about this game is the capability to run servers, in which, your friends and any other players can join and build in a world with you.

Setting up servers is not easy though, and either you pay a company to host a server for you, or you go out and purchase a server with RAID and plenty of memory to be sure it can handle 10+ people at once. Now, unless you are really into it, and are willing to put a lot of money into a powerful machine, I would recommend getting a hosted server, which is what I do. I pay a monthly fee to maintain a server that my members play on every day. Now, don’t think I am taking a shortcut. If I had a server to host at my own home, I would, but I don’t. I know how to set up the server files and port-forward the IP and blah blah blah… but it is just very expensive to manage that kind of thing, and I much rather have a company who houses hundreds of powerful machines do it for me.

Anyway, I run this server. On my server I am known as Hobojoe, or Hobo, as everyone calls me (I made it up years ago, I know its silly). All my servers are a part of HoboServers and we have a website and everything. Check out www.hoboservers.com and we have a Facebook page, the whole deal. The website is currently a wix.com site, just because I am still working on the final site in Dreamweaver and it is taking forever.

My servers are become quite popular these days and with our upgrade from 10 open server slots, to 20 slots, we have gained about 7 active members, to our, 8 members. Our staff is made up of 5 people, including me. Our admins: Cafgeo (George), 15, lives in North Carolina and is the head Admin. Lalli87 (Larus), 15 years old and lives in Iceland. Gamergabo (Gabe), 13 years old and lives in Nevada. IN7OMNIA (Abbie), 14 years old, she lives in the UK. Lastly, Apple Crack (Edan), 14 and lives in California. These are all our admins and they constantly manage the server during the week and whenever I cannot get on. As you have noticed, they live in very different places. We have Larus and Abbie who are about 5 hours ahead of central time, and they manage the server on a different shift from Edan and Gabe, who are pacific time zone. George is on Mountain time, so we are pretty close in time zones. I didn’t mean to set it up this way, but it is very convenient on how we are in different times, and it is good that someone is on most of the time, because it is difficult to keep up with all the people. I have talked with these people very much and I trust them. Some, I have know since the begging of my server, and others are new, almost as of 2 months.

I don’t want to go into too much depth on how we manage the server, but depending on how active it is, we are typically very busy in helping new members or fixing problems, etc. You could almost consider us a tech support service for the game. Because of all the admins we have, they can almost run the server without me, which is why they are so awesome.

I plan to keep the server running as long as I can fund it and I encourage all of my active members to donate on the site. We do many server-wide weekend events and people can win prizes and other things. Most of the time I film the events and put them on my channel, but recently I have been letting the other admins put them on their channels.

Running a server is a great experience if you like meeting random people who might actually be cool, and other than that I just consider it a weekend job, like running my own business.

Ultime Game Servers

Hosted Server control panel

7 comments on “My Servers and Admins

  1. shanksr says:

    Wow, I wish I understood more of that. I liked the part about your old username haha, those are so embarrassing. I have an email address from 3rd grade that is maroonmonkey94 that I made up when we used to play on paper computers that we made ourselves. Good times…

  2. Katie Foster says:

    The Hobo link didn’t work! Holy crap, Iceland? It’s green there. Strange. Henry you are so talented!

  3. Kory says:

    Wow. I didn’t understand any of that, but I think that’s so cool you can do all that stuff.

  4. huddlestonk says:

    Very, very cool, Henry. How much time each week do you estimate you spend on all your gaming activities and maintaining your server?

    • henrybeach says:

      I never really have time during the week, but on the weekends it takes up most of my Friday afternoon/night and Saturday night if I am not doing anything with friends or my family. I check in a lot during the day on weekends, and when I get home from school I make sure everything is going well.

  5. Cafgeo says:

    Oh cool! He mentioned me!

Leave a Reply

